nineinchnailsNINE INCH NAILS – ‘Hesitation Marks’
The empirical genius of Trent Reznor knows no boundaries.  An eternal appetite to follow no path, no code, but to create his very own vocation that blazes a trail for the rest of us to follow like lap dogs.  No matter which way he turns, the ride we’re taken on as listeners is unmistakable, singel-minded, quite prodigious and utterly fascinating.  Almost entirely ditching the balls to the wall industrial rock ferocity of the Broken-era and the reptilian grind of the Downward Spiral, Reznor has once again partnered with Atticus Ross and Alan Moulder to create glacial electro-pop grooves to stir all souls.  Similar in feel to 08’s The Slip and the equally anodic side project How To Destroy Angels, Hesitation Marks is as impressive as it is adventurous.  ‘Copy of A’ and ‘Came Back Haunted’ are up there with his best work to date, as is the sprawling narcissism of ‘Satellite’ and the open nihilism of ‘Find My Way’ and ‘Everything’; each dazzling soundscapes deeply embellished with introspection and rich tricks.  Equally stark are ‘Various Methods of Escape’ which retains trademark guitar and the deep dub bassline of ‘I Would For You’ that rises up with a delicious chorus to elevate proceedngs with ease.  Completely free from the unending bottomless pit of rage and self-loathing that has haunted his existence, with Hesitation Marks Reznor and NIN appear to have been resuscitated; the air they breathe is much more clear, less dank, bringing new meaning to the phrase ‘a new lease of life’.  Still peerless.  (9)



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s