HIGH ON FIRE – Birmingham O2 Arena

highonfire

Alunah, Lizzard, Jumping Jack, HIGH ON FIRE

Birmingham O2 Academy

February 1st 2013

When I arrived at Birmingham’s O2 Academy to see my first High On Fire gig I was worried, I knew that they are regarded as one of the loudest and pummeling live acts anywhere on planet earth but the queue down the Bristol Road was not the expected demographic – luckily the line of strangely-dressed teens was for Irish Indie group Two-Door Cinema Club (apparently they once did an advert for Debenhams….).  The smaller line was the one I needed and lead to a room which promised Metal Ecstasy in the shape of Matt Pike’s High On Fire – in the UK to support 2012’s De Vermis Mysteriis and promising to give the second city a pumelling to remember.  Local Doom merchants Alunah (6) opened the show to a sparsely populated Academy, filling the largely empty room with their brand of slow-riffing Priest-esque metal, softened only by Sophie Day’s vocal, commanding the few in attendance.  Go to ‘On The Road’ to see more

28 thoughts on “HIGH ON FIRE – Birmingham O2 Arena”

  1. This is very interesting, You are an overly skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  2. When accessed your web page for the first time, I believed it was just another blog. After looking through a number of posts I absolutely changed my mind. It’s a really good blog site indeed.

  3. That is really fascinating, You are a very professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to in the hunt for more of your fantastic post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  4. I am ipressed by the quality of writing on this website. There are a lots of well thought out resources here. I just thought that you might be new to the green smoke, than by all means come in and check our stuff. I am sure I will visit this place again soon. Brilliant, it’s a great article. All the best.

  5. This is a superb piece, I found your weblog browsing internet for a related theme and came to this. I couldnt come across to much supplementary information on this piece, so it was pleasant to find this one. I will certainly end up being back again to check out some other posts that you have another time.

  6. I simply want to tell you that I am just all new to blogging and certainly loved your page. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You actually have good articles and reviews. Thanks a lot for revealing your web-site.

Discuss

